Challenge Coin

The Daily Prompt for January 19, 2015, Re-springing Your Step, asked to tell us about the last experience you had that left you feeling fresh, energized, and rejuvenated. What was it that had such a positive effect on you?

At the end of my first volunteer shift in 2010, a Marine who spent most of his time chatting with me about his family in Hawaii and his recent return from a deployment asked if he could give me something. I told him it would depend on what it was. The Marine extended his hand to mine and dropped his unit Challenge Coin in my hand and said, “thanks for your service.” For those of you familiar with a Challenge Coin know it’s  significant to be the recipient. I told him, “no, thanks for your service and keeping us safe.”

I felt re-energized that at this point in my busy life, I made the right decision to serve as a volunteer. As I drove home, a renewed sense of serving and helping others came over me. In my opinion, it’s definitely better to give than to receive.

One thought on “Challenge Coin

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Made Whole Again” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

